Unit 6: Teacher / Student Key pages
Frameworks for America's Past
Return to Originating Page


The map below shows lands America gained in the Spanish-American War,
as well as the Panama Canal. 
After the Spanish-American War, Cuba
was given its independence. 
The Philippines, Guam, and Puerto Rico
became U.S. territories.

The U.S. gave the Philippines their independence after World War II. 
Guam and Puerto Rico are still part of the U.S.


Copyright Notice

   Copyright 2009, 2016 by David Burns.  All rights reserved.  As a guide to the Virginia Standards of Learning, some pages necessarily include phrases or sentences from that document, which is available online from the Virginia Department of Education.  The author's copyright extends to the original text and graphics, unique design and layout, and related material.